Stirling primary schools’ Athletics Championships were a smashing success.

Hosted by Stirling University on Thursday 27 May, 330 children from 33 local primaries contested various track and field disciplines.

Throughout the fantastic day of sport, five championship records were set.

The event was led by Active Stirling’s athletics development officer Alison Grey and delivered by Active Stirling’s Sports Development team and the support of Central Athletics Club.

Commonweath Games long jumper Jade Nimmo and provost Mike Robbins were in attendance to pass on tips and present prizes to the children.

Overall school team winners: Newton PS Individual and relay medallists: Boys 80m 1st -Barry Hepburn (Cowie PS) 10.80secs (CBP) 2nd - Logan Downie (Beaconhurst School) 11.24secs 3rd - Harris Almass (Dunblane PS) 11.30secs Girls 80m 1st - Emma Wilkes (Killearn PS) 10.95secs (CBP) 2nd -Emily Corrigan (Strathblane PS) 11.28secs       3rd - Lucy More (Aberfoyle PS) 11.36secs   Boys 150m 1st-Lucas Williamson (Riverside PS) 20.00secs (CBP) 2nd - Euan Wond (Beaconhurst School) 20.05secs 3rd - George Gornall (Our Lady’s PS) 20.56secs Girls 150m 1st - Jessica Turnbull (St Ninian’s PS) 21.71secs 2nd - Rosanna Savoury (Dunblane PS) 21.75secs 3rd - Leisha Curruth (Strathblane PS) 22.44secs Boys 600m 1st - Cameron Blance (Bridge of Allan PS) 1.46.55mins (CBP) 2nd - Callum Byrne (Killearn PS) 1.50.40mins 3rd - Sandy Buchanan (Cambusbarron PS) 1.54.04mins Girls 600m         1st - Amy Kirkpartick (Balfron PS) 1.46.08mins (CBP)         2nd - Katie Burr (Killearn PS) 1.47.46mins 3rd - Carrie Banks (Beaconhurst School) 1.54.71mins Boys Relay 1st - Riverside PS 59.25secs 2nd - Bridge of Allan PS 60.11secs 3rd - Queen Victoria School 60.22secs Girls Relay 1st - Newton PS 62.31secs 2nd - Dunblane PS 62.36secs 3rd - St Ninian’s PS 62.85secs Boys Turbo Javelin 1st - Scott Forbes (Killearn PS) 18.70m 2nd - Calum Shannon (Newton PS) 18.20m 3rd - Adam Elder (Drymen PS) 17.10m Girls Turbo Javelin 1st - Natasha Logan (Riverside PS) 14.50m 2nd - Evie Hyndlands (Balfron PS) 12.90m 3rd - Eva Beck (Gargunnock PS) 12.82m Boys Long Jump 1st - Sam Raikadroka (Queen Victoria School) 4.03m 2nd - Mitchell Stars (Newton PS) 4.00m 3rd - Ben Isgrove (Callander PS) 3.81m Girls Long Jump 1st - Tilde Murru (Bridge of Allan PS) 3.64m 2nd - Katie Fabel (Strathblane PS) 3.64m 3rd - Jennifer McPherson (Beaconhurst School) 3.58m