Nicola Sturgeon has revealed the dozens of countries people from Scotland can travel to without facing quarantine restrictions on their return.

From July 10, she said, those travelling from the 39 countries in the green list, such as Germany and Norway will not have to quarantine for two weeks.

Countries with a prevalence lower than Scotland, such as France and Poland, will also not be forced to isolate.

However, Spain and Serbia will not be allowed to freely travel to Scotland due to localised outbreaks in those countries, the First Minister said.

She added: “This has been a very difficult decision… but it is evidence driven.”

Stirling News:

While Spain is not currently on the approved list, the First Minister said that will be kept under regular review to see if cases of the virus there decrease enough.

She also said that if necessary data becomes available, the Scottish Government would consider accepting people travelling from Spanish islands such as the Canaries or Ibiza.

The First Minister also added that there could be a re-imposition of measures if the virus begins to get out of control again.

She added that there will not be “a way around” the quarantine rules by flying into English airports, because Scottish health officials will have the details of those who are travelling back into the UK.

Ms Sturgeon also emphasised that those who travel to Scotland from countries on the approved lists will have to adhere to social distancing and hygiene measures.

The list in full: 

  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia 
  • Austria 
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Greece 
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica 
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Réunion
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Kitts & Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • South Korea
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City State 
  • Vietnam

The fourteen UK overseas territories also on the list of exemptions are: Akrotiri and Dhekelia; Anguilla; Bermuda; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; British Virgin Islands; Cayman Islands; Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands.